What to expect from E3 2019

0 comments / Posted on by Orzly accessories

E3 is right around the corner, beginning on June 9th, and the gaming community is holding its breath in anticipation, but what’s all the fuss about? E3 isn’t an ordinary convention after all, it sets a yearly precedent for the interactive entertainment industry and anyone with a passion for games should be excited.

 

What is E3?

The Electronic Entertainment Expo, better known as E3, is a premier event for leading game developers to showcase or unveil upcoming titles. Tens of thousands of fans, press, and developers flock to the Los Angeles Convention Center in California for a first-hand glimpse at the future of gaming. For those that can’t attend, press conferences are live streamed across the internet and everything is reported on in articles, blogs, videos, and forums by the media.

 

Overview

E3 begins with staged press conferences, where leading developers showcase their upcoming titles, this is all live streamed across the internet. The press conferences run from Sunday, June 9th to Tuesday, June 11th. Take a look at the timetable below for details.
The floor exhibitions, which are available to the public, open their doors on Tuesday, June 11th until Thursday, June 13th. Tickets are issued on a first-come, first served basis with limited availability. A standard 3-day pass will set you back $249 (~£200). While an industry pro badge, which grants early access to industry-only talks, will cost you $695 (~£550). Some industry developers and press affiliated with the interactive entertainment industry qualify for a complimentary pass.

Press Conference

Studio

Date (June 2019)

PST (USA, West Coast)

EST (USA, East Coast)

CEST (Central Europe)

BST (UK)

Microsoft

Sunday 9th

1 pm

4 pm

10 pm

9 pm

Bethesda

Sunday 9th

3 pm

4 pm

12 am

11 pm

Devolver Digital

Sunday 9th

7 pm

10 pm

4 am (Monday)

3 am (Monday)

PC Gaming Show

Monday 10th

10 am

1 pm

7 pm

6 pm

Ubisoft

Monday 10th

1 pm

4 pm

10 pm

9 pm

Square Enix

Monday 10th

6 pm

9 pm

3 am (Tuesday)

2 am (Tuesday)

Nintendo

Tuesday 11th

9 am

12 pm

6 pm

5 pm

 

Catch the full coverage live-stream on YouTube Live at E3 or use the Studios’ own links found fellow. Double check who’s streaming when to be sure you don’t miss out!

Floor Exhibition

Date

Standard Pass

Industry Pass

Tuesday, June 11th

2pm - 7pm

11am - 7pm

Wednesday, June 12th

12pm - 7pm

9am - 7pm

Thursday, June 13th

9pm - 6pm

9am - 6pm

 

Rumours and speculation are flying; no one truly knows what the industry tech giants have in store for us this year but there’s no doubt it’ll be an amazing event.
Here are a few of our predictions for the event:

Microsoft

Sunday 9th June 2019 | 13:00 PT | 16:00 ET | 22:00 CEST | 21:00 BST
Live Streams: Mixer | Twitch | Youtube


The developers of the infamous Xbox console and riveting Halo franchise make an annual return to E3’s press conference. We’re hoping for information on the next generation of consoles and maybe even an entirely new IP.


Our predictions:

  • Project Scarlet–the rumoured next iteration of Xbox

  • Halo Infinite

  • Gears 5

  • The Outer Worlds

  • A New IP–hopefully from Ninja Theory, the studio behind the critically acclaimed Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice.

 

Bethesda

Sunday 9th June 2019 | 15:00 PT | 16:00 ET | 23:00 BST
Live Streams: Mixer | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube
Director Todd Howard, has confirmed that neither Starfield or The Elder Scrolls VI will be appearing at this year's E3, regardless we’re still holding out for some teaser trailers and eager to see what else they’ll be revealing.

 

Our predictions:

  • Doom Eternal

  • The Evil Within 3

  • Wolfenstein 3

  • Rage 2 Expansion DLC

  • Fallout 76 summer update

 

Devolver Digital

Sunday 9th June | 19:00 PST | 22:00 EST | 4:00 CEST | 3:00 BST
Live Stream: Twitch
The refreshing spoof conference will be making a come back this year, tune in for some giggles and possible trailers for their upcoming indie titles: Talos Principle 2 and Etir.

 

PC Gaming Show

Monday 10th June 2019 | 10:00 PT | 13:00 ET | 19:00 CEST | 18:00 BST

Live Stream: Twitch | Steam | Facebook | Mixer | YouTube
A presentation attributed to unveiling next-generation hardware and discussing upcoming games. Tune in for talks and trailers.



Ubisoft

Live Streams: Mixer | YouTube | Twitter | FaceBook | Twitch
Monday 10th June 2019 | 13:00 PT | 16:00 ET |21:00 BST

Ubisoft has been keeping quiet but subtle hints have us banking on a new Viking themed Assassin's Creed and possibly a Splinter Cell reveal.

 

Our predictions:

  • Skull and Bones

  • Beyond Good and Evil 2

  • Ghost Recon

  • Watch Dogs 3

  • Assassin’s Creed

  • Splinter Cell

 

Square Enix

Monday 10th June 2019 | 18:00 PT | 21:00 ET | 02:00 BST (Tuesday)
Live Streams: Twitch | YouTube
Some of us are predicting the next instalment of Final Fantasy, others are just keen to hear more news on the FF7 remake; which got a standing ovation when it was first announced. Their new Avengers game, which has been kept well under wraps, is most likely to take the stage however.


Our predictions:

  • FF14: Shadow Bringers

  • FFVII Remake

  • Life is Strange 2

  • Dragon Quest Builders 2

  • New Avengers Game

 

Nintendo

Tuesday 11th June 2019 | 17:00 BST
Live Streams: Twitch | YouTube
We’re expecting another big Nintendo Direct this year. The new Pokemon Sword and Shield is expected to be released later this year, with the recently announced Pokemon sleep to accompany it. Fans are still holding out for more information on the newest instalment of Luigi’s Mansion and Animal Crossing. And we’re expecting Nintendo to keep up with rumours of a next-gen Xbox and PlayStation by revealing their own updated Nintendo Switch, Switch Lite, and consequently discuss the future of the 3DS.


Our predictions:

  • Metroid Prime 4
  • Pokemon Sword and Shield
  • Pokemon Home & Sleep
  • Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order
  • Luigi’s Mansion 3
  • Maemon X Machina
  • Astral Chain
  • Animal Crossing
  • Bayonetta 3
  • The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening
  • Town
  • Super Mario Maker 2

 

EA

Have decided to forgo a traditional presentation in favour of an interactive floor show in the exhibition hall. They will however, be producing live streams throughout the week featuring news from their game developers.

 

Our Predictions:

  • Apex Legends
  • Star Wars: Jedi Fallen Order
  • Anthem update
  • Need For Speed
  • Dragon Age 4
  • FIFA 20
  • NHL 20

 

Sony

The creators of PlayStation have announced they won’t be attending E3 this year due to lack of content. Rumours say they’re holding out for a big PlayStation 5 reveal later this year.

 

CD Projekt Red

The makers of the Witcher series will have a booth in the exhibition hall as well as a private press conference to display their upcoming title Cyberpunk 2077. CD Projekt Red has admitted the game won’t be playable but during the company’s 2018 financial results presentation Kiciński boasted "this year is going to be the most important one. We have really prepared a strong show."


No one can be certain what each company will bring to the conference this year, but rumours are buzzing and this years gaming scene looks promising. Are there any announcements you’re hoping for at this year's E3? Let us know in the comments!  

0 comments

Leave a comment

All blog comments are checked prior to publishing

Top Brands

warranty
Premium Materials
Secure Shopping
100% Guaranteed
x